Birds, Scams, Beginning Travels

Bird in the bathroom. Gecko on the ceiling. Frog in the hallway. There are many animals in the hostels I’m staying at. Also, today I saw a wild monkey for the first time, in the jungle.

I’m in Siem Reap, Cambodia. Had 3 awesome days in Bangkok before.

I had never seen child workers before, and now kids as young as 7 are trying to sell me postcards, scarves, and flowers. “Hello lady! Where are you from? You want a postcard?”

This is the first time I need to be constantly vigilant for scams. Korea is nearly void of those because it’s a wealthy country and there are hardly any tourists. It sucks having to be skeptical of all the locals here. Some guy is offering a boat ride, or help with a visa. Scam or not? Here’s one example.

The German girls I’ve just met and I are headed to a famous Thai temple, but we can’t find the metro stop. A man approaches us asking if we need help. He tells us that the temple is closed for a lunch break, but the best Thai experience is getting a boat cruise down the river, and here is how to get there. He wishes us luck and says goodbye.

Scam! Luckily, we’ve read about this in our Lonely Planets. Don’t trust anyone who says the temples are closed. They have a friend who’s running some business, whether it’s a boat ride or jewel shop. We end up finding the metro on our own and lo and behold, the temple is open, it has always been open, it will always be open.

Example 2: I’m at the Thai- Cambodia border, two enormous backpacks on my back and stomach, sweaty and tired. There’s a gigantic sign that says “VISA ON ARRIVAL.” I need a visa to enter Cambodia. A man in front of the sign, wearing a lanyard, leads me to the back of a building… hmm. There are some Thais filling out paperwork, and official-looking Cambodian forms. He asks for a passport photo, which I brought. Then he asks for 1,300 Thai baht, or $40. Again, Lonely Planet said the visa would be 20 US dollars (not in baht,) and I told him that, and he said “uhhh.” I left and found the official Cambodia visa office (it was an impressive looking building with soldiers in front.) Ha!

Of course, I have fallen victim to paying way too much for cabs, and a different boat ride in Thailand. These scams aren’t too much of a big deal for the wallet because it’s like spending $7 for a cab ride instead of $2. But still! It hurts.

Otherwise, it’s been really cool. I’m having to adjust to things being so cheap. $1 for stir-fried noodles, vegetables, and pork. $3 pedicure. $2.50 accommodation in a dorm. The world is not fair. Why is this so cheap for me and not for the locals? I don’t understand why the currency exchange would be so against them.

Will see more temples of Angkor tomorrow (where Tomb Raider was filmed, apparently.) And may also get my hair cut short because it is toooooooo hot here.